Academy Chair and other Social Scientists Honoured

June 14, 2014

Professor Sir Cary Cooper CBE FAcSS, Chair of the Academy’s Council since 2009, has been created Knight Bachelor in the Queen’s Birthday Honours for services to social science. A leading media commentator and researcher in organisational psychology, Professor Cooper’s work and his ability to communicate to widely diverse audiences is internationally known and the Academy is delighted to see his work and social science recognised in this way. The Academy nominated him for this Honour in recognition not only of his wide and sustained contribution to social science but in particular for his visionary and collegiate leadership of the Academy, leading to a time of great growth and development. He now joins the Academy’s President, Professor Sir Ivor Crewe AcSS, as Knight Bachelor.

The Academy is also delighted to see that other Fellows and social scientists have also had their work recognised by the nation:

  • Dame Jil Matheson DCB AcSS, the Government’s Chief Statistician has been created Dame Commander of the order of the Bath (DCB) for services to government statistics
  • Dame Katherine Barker DBE CBE AcSS has been created DBE for services to the economy. Kate was a member of the Campaign for Social Science Board from the beginning.
  • Professor Denise Lievesley CBE AcSS, Professor of statistics at King’s College London has been awarded the CBE for services to social science
  • Professor Alan Walker CBE AcSS, Professor of social policy and social gerontology at the University of Sheffield, has been been awarded the CBE for services to social science
  • Professor Lorna Unwin OBE AcSS, has been awarded the OBE for services to vocational education and training


The Academy offers hearty congratulations to all who have been honoured. If we have missed someone’s name, please let me know and I’ll add it to the list here. ([email protected])

Print version