Academy welcomes five new council members at AGM

2 July 2018

The Academy of Social Sciences is delighted to welcome five new council members at its 19th Annual General Meeting (AGM) which was held on 28 June 2018 at 33 Finsbury Square, London. The governing body of the Academy saw five new vacancies. Matthew Flinders and Catherine Pope resigned during the course of the year. Additionally, the terms of Patricia Broadfoot, Linda Hantrais and Jane Millar ended at the AGM. Declarations of candidacy were invited on 16 April with a closing date of 31 May. Five declarations were received, two for election by Fellows and three for election by member learned societies. As the vacancies matched the nominations perfectly, no election was required.

Our five new Council members are:

Professor Nic Beech FAcSS – Current Chair of the British Academy of Management and Provost at the University of Dundee. Former Vice Principal at the University of St Andrews.

Professor Tony Crook CBE FAcSS – a former Council member. Former Senior Pro-Vice Chancellor of The University of Sheffield, current Chair of the Conservation Volunteers, Deputy Chair of the Orbit Housing Group and a member of the Royal Town Planning Institute Trustee Board.

Professor Simon Marginson FAcSS – currently Professor of International Higher Education at the UCL Institute of Education. In September 2018, becomes Professor of Higher Education at the University of Oxford. Member of the Society for Research into Higher Education.

Dame Jil Matheson FAcSS – National Statistician from 2009-2014 and currently a Trustee of NatCen Social Research. Has recently carried out various reviews, including of statistics at the BBC, and of the need for improved numeracy and data skills in the UK, for the British Academy.

Professor Vicky Pryce FAcSS – Chief Economic Adviser and board member at the Centre for Economics and Business Research. Previously, Managing Director FTI Consulting, Director General for Economics at Department for Business, Innovation and Skills and Joint Head of the Government Economic Service.

  • Photo by Aarti Basnyat
  • Dame Jil Matheson FAcSS
  • Professor Tony Crook CBE FAcSS
  • Professor Simon Marginson FAcSS
  • (L-R) Professor Roger Goodman FAcSS – Chair of Council, Executive Director Stephen Anderson, Professor Shamit Saggar CBE FAcSS - Chair of Campaign Council and Professor Jane Broadbent FAcSS – Honorary Secretary. Photo by Aarti Basnyat
  • Certificates for our Fellows, ready to be distributed. Photo by Aarti Basnyat
  • Photo by Aarti Basnyat
  • Professor Vicky Pryce FAcSS