Academy welcomes new ESRC Council

March 6, 2018

The Academy of Social Sciences has today welcomed the new council appointments to the Economic and Social Research Council (ESRC), noting that the Senior Independent Member and four other members are Fellows of the Academy.

Roger Goodman FAcSS, Chair of the Academy, said:

“The new ESRC Council will play a key role in ensuring that the social sciences contribute fully to UK research and innovation.  We are delighted that the Senior Independent Member and four other members of the Council are Fellows of the Academy.”

The Senior Independent Member of the ESRC Council is Professor Diane Coyle CBE FAcSS, Bennett Professor of Public Policy, University of Cambridge.

The four other members are Professor Jane Falkingham OBE FAcSS, Professor of Demography and International Social Policy, University of Southampton; Professor Matthew Flinders FAcSS, Professor of Politics, University of Sheffield;  Professor Nigel Gilbert CBE FAcSS, Professor of Sociology, University of Surrey; and Professor Rachel Griffith CBE FAcSS, Professor of Economics, University of Manchester and Research Director, Institute for Fiscal Studies.