Source URL:

Eighty-four leading social scientists conferred as Fellows of the Academy of Social Sciences

Posted on October 19, 2016

  • The Baroness Tyler of Enfield
  • Professor Lord Nicholas Stern
  • Andrew Haldane
  • Dr David Halpern

The Academy of Social Sciences has announced today [19 October, 2016] that it has conferred the award of Fellow on 84 leading social scientists.

The new Fellows are drawn from across the spectrum of academia, practitioners and policymakers. They have been recognised after an extensive process of peer review for the excellence and impact of their work through the use of social science for public benefit. This includes substantial contributions and leadership in higher education, government, public health and social policy, funding councils, charitable foundations and think tanks.

Announcing the conferment, Professor Roger Goodman FAcSS, Chair of the Academy, said:

 “I am delighted that we have been able to confer a Fellowship on all these eminent social scientists. It is particularly gratifying to include a larger number of economists, policy makers and practitioners on this occasion. This is a result of our work to see representation from these areas increased to maintain balances between the individual disciplines and between academics and those working in the policy and practice communities. This gives the Academy legitimacy to speak on behalf of the social science community as a whole.”

The full list is: