Seven Academy Fellows appointed Sub-Panel chairs for the Research Excellence Framework 2021

December 7, 2017

Seven Fellows of the Academy of Social Sciences have been appointed chairs of Sub-Panels for the Research Excellence Framework 2021.

The Fellows are:

  • Professor Cecilia Wong FAcSS – Professor of Spatial Planning at the University of Manchester. Professor Wong will chair the Sub-Panel on Architecture, Built Environment and Planning.
  • Professor Robert Blackburn FAcSS – Associate Dean of Research, Kingston University Business School. Professor Blackburn will chair the Sub-Panel on Business and Management Studies.
  • Professor Joanne Conaghan FAcSS – Professor of Law and Head of School at the University of Bristol. Professor Conaghan will chair the Sub-Panel on Law.
  • Professor Charlie Jeffery FAcSS – Senior Vice Principal and Professor of Politics at the University of Edinburgh. Professor Jeffery will chair the Sub-Panel on Politics and International Studies.
  • Professor Nicholas Ellison FAcSS – Professor of Social Policy at the University of York. Professor Ellison will chair the Sub-Panel on Social Work and Social Policy.
  • Professor Sylvia Walby FAcSS – Distinguished Professor of Sociology at Lancaster University. Professor Walby will chair the Sociology sub-panel.
  • Professor David James FAcSS – Director, ESRC Wales Doctoral Training Centre. Professor James will chair the Sub-Panel on Education.

Commenting on the announcement, Professor Roger Goodman FAcSS, Chair of the Academy of Social Sciences, said:

“We are delighted that, of the 12 social science disciplines under Main Panel C, seven Sub-Panel chairs are Fellows of the Academy. They each bring a wealth of experience and leadership in research and research assessment that will undoubtedly contribute to the success of the REF.”

The key role of each Sub-Panel chair is to lead their Sub-PaneI in developing criteria for the assessment and in consistently applying assessment standards. The chair will also play a key role in engaging with the UK higher education sector on the REF.

Read the full list of sub-panel chairs