Fellows' News

Professor Louise Archer FAcSS wins ESRC Impact prize 2019

Congratulations to our Fellow Professor Louise Archer and her team at the UCL Institute of Education on their receipt of the Panel’s Choice Award at the ESRC Impact prizes 2019. The Panel’s Choice award recognises that a finalist’s work was highly commended by the judging panel. Professor Louise Archer and colleagues won the award for… Read more »

Six Academy Fellows appointed to the ESRC’s Strategic Advisory Network

Congratulations to our six Academy of Social Science Fellows who have been appointed to the ESRC’s Strategic Advisory Network (SAN). The SAN is comprised of leading experts from the academic and user communities. It helps the ESRC exploit opportunities and access the voice and expertise of its communities. Fellows who have been newly appointed are:… Read more »

ACSS Fellow Prof Stephen Linstead wins best research film at AHRC Research in Film Awards

Prof Stephen Linstead FAcSS’ short film “Black Snow” won the Best Research Film of the Year category at the Arts and Humanities Research in Films Awards 2018. Judged by a panel of film industry experts and leading academics, the winners were announced during a special awards ceremony at BAFTA in November, where they each receive a trophy and… Read more »

Dame Frances Cairncross FAcSS awarded President’s Medal

Academy Fellow, Dame Frances Cairncross, in a distinguished career, will be one of the winners of this year’s  British Academy President’s Medal. She receives her award for the pioneering way she has used economic and social science research in environmental, media, public policy and technology journalism. For decades Dame Frances Cairncross has been an advocate… Read more »

Professor Geoff Whitty

By Dr. Richard Collins FAcSS Geoff Whitty died on 27 July 2018. He was an able and valued member of the Academy’s Audit and Risk Committee and was best known in academic and public life as Director of the University of London’s, latterly UCL’s, Institute of Education. Geoff was born in 1946 in the suburban… Read more »

Academy welcomes five new council members at AGM

The Academy of Social Sciences is delighted to welcome five new council members at its 19th Annual General Meeting (AGM) which was held on 28 June 2018 at 33 Finsbury Square, London. The governing body of the Academy saw five new vacancies. Matthew Flinders and Catherine Pope resigned during the course of the year. Additionally,… Read more »

Fifty-eight leading social scientists conferred as Fellows of the Academy of Social Sciences

The Academy of Social Sciences has announced today (5 April 2018) that it has conferred the award of Fellow on 58 leading social scientists. The new Fellows are drawn from academics, practitioners and policymakers across the social sciences. They have been recognised after an extensive peer review process for the excellence and impact of their… Read more »

With 15 months to go, what is Scotland making of Brexit? The new report from Sir John Curtice FAcSS

According to the latest research from Sir John Curtice FAcSS, Scottish voters want decisions about issues such as fishing and farming to be made in post-Brexit Scotland by the Scottish Government. However, they’d like to keep the same rules as the rest of the UK on reserved issues such as trade and immigration.

New book – Evidence-based skills in criminal justice: International research on supporting rehabilitation and desistance

Edited by Pamela Ugwudike, Peter Raynor FAcSS and Jill Annison, this book is the first to bring together international research on skills and practices in probation and youth justice, while exploring the wider contexts that affect their implementation in the public, private and voluntary sectors. Wide-ranging in scope, it also covers effective approaches to working with diverse groups such as ethnic minority service users, women and young people.

Academy Fellows recognised in New Year’s Honours

The Academy is delighted to see several of its Fellows honoured for their work in the 2018 New Year’s Honours list and offers its congratulations:   Sir John Curtice FAcSS, professor of Politics at University of Strathclyde. For services to the Social Sciences and Politics. Sir Bernard Silverman FAcSS, Chief Scientific Adviser at the Home… Read more »